Historical Background

     In B.E.2509 (A.D.1966), People Irrigation Construction Project (Phitsanulok part) was established by People Irrigation Division in order to be responsible for constructing small and medium scale irrigation projects. The most budget of the Project has been allocated from the Committee for Northern Region Development and annual budget of People Irrigation Division. The responsible area of the Project has covered Phichit, Phitsanulok, Uttaradit, Kamphaeng Phet, Sukhothai and Nan provinces, but other provinces in the northern region have been directly administrated by People Irrigation Division. In B.E.2515 (A.D.1972) Royal Irrigation Department considered that the existing organization structure had some divisions which its offices located in local areas, e.g., State Irrigation Division, People Irrigation Division and Construction Division. It was not administrative structure characteristics of RID because a chain of command was only directed to such division, not to the department. RID, therefore, reorganized its structure by dividing into 8 regions and defined Phitsanulok province being an office of upper central region or lower northern region according to RID’s order No. 10/2515 dated 14 March 2515. It has covered 8 provinces: Tak, Kamphaeng Phet, Nakhon Sawan, Sukhothai, Uttaradit, Phitsanulok, Phichit and Phetchabun. Later, RID realized that the classification of 8 regions having scope of work too wide to administrate and control, thus the organization structure was reclassified from 8 regions to 12 areas by setting the lower northern region being the office of Regional Irrigation 3. Royal Decree organizing the Royal Irrigation Department, Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives B.E.2518 (A.D.1975) defined to classify an organization structure of RID to 22 divisions in central part and 12 irrigation offices in regional part. Thus, the office of upper central region was renamed to Regional Irrigation Office 3 having responsible areas covering 8 provinces in lower northern region as previously. After that, RID’s organization structure was reclassified to 25 divisions and 12 regional offices under the Royal Decree B.E.2518 (A.D.1975) Thereafter, Royal Decree organizing the Royal Irrigation Department B.E.2540 (A.D.1997) defined to classify an organization structure of RID to 9 divisions and 13 offices in central part, and 12 offices in region. Regional Irrigation Office 3 was raised its position, covering responsible area in 8 provinces in lower northern region as previously. In B.E. 2545 (A.D. 2002) on 9 October 2545 RID’s structure was reclassified to 5 divisions and 10 offices and 16 regional offices. By the responsible area of RIO3 was reduced to 4 provinces; Uttaradit, Phitsanulok, Phichit and Nakhon Sawan

Mr. Tebpong trinate
Director Irrigation Office 3

Copyright © 2013 Irrigation Office 3 - Royal Irrigation Department
204 Muang ,Phisanulok 65000
Webmaster : Mr.Parinya Somsak E-mail : pr3_2555@hotmail.com Tel. 0 5533 3001 Fax. 0 5533 3021